Archive for October, 2016

EIU CMN/Broadcasting Students Win Awards!

October 19, 2016


(Pictured: Katlyn Quill and Jesse Guinn)

Two EIU Communication Studies students were recognized Friday in a statewide contest for student broadcasters.  The Illinois Broadcasters Association held the awards ceremony for its Student Silver Dome Awards.  EIU students recognized include:

  • Katlyn Quill (2016 graduate) – 2nd place for Best Radio Longform Programming for her news report on the Fund EIU Rally in February
  • Lacey Clifton – 2nd place for Best TV Weathercast
  • Jesse Guinn – 3rd place for Best TV Weathercast
  • WEIU News Watch – 3rd place for Best TV Newscast

The awards were presented at the annual IBA-U Student Broadcasting Conference at Illinois State University in Normal.  Nine students from Eastern attended the conference.


CMN Student Wins Regional Student Emmy Award

October 5, 2016


Jesse Guinn has been awarded a Regional Student Emmy Award for his work as an on-air talent in Weather Forecasting and News Anchoring at WEIU-TV.

Jesse received the award last Saturday at the Mid-America Emmy Awards in Branson, Missouri.

Jesse is a senior from New Castle, Indiana and is a double major in Communication Studies and Geography, with a minor in Broadcast Meteorology.

Also, the WEIU-TV student produced nightly newscast News Watch received an Honorable Mention for Best Student Newscast in the Mid-America Region.

CMN Faculty and Alumni Attend State Conference

October 4, 2016

On September 22, 23, and 24, EIU Faculty member Dr. Rich Jones, current MA candidate Jamie Alexander, and several EIU alumni (Clinton Brown, Emily Vajjala, and Alyssa Obradovich) presented at the Illinois Communication and Theatre Association’s annual convention in Lisle, IL.

Jones, Brown, and Obradovich also serve on the Board of Directors for ICTA. Dr. Jones is in his fourth year as the Higher Education Chair. Clinton Brown (BA 2013, MA 2015) is the Student Representative. Alyssa Obradovich (BA 2008, MA 2011) is the Higher Education PR/Membership Representative.


Emily Vajjala (BA 2010, MA 2014) received the L.E. Norton Outstanding Higher Education Speech Student Award. Her MA advisor, Rich Jones, nominated her for the award and presented it to her.



Jones, Clinton, Obradovich, and Vajjala presented on the panel titled: Mentor/Mentee Fresh! Establishing and Evolving Mentor Relationships in Higher Education.

Obradovich presented on a panel titled: The First Day of Class: Creating a Climate for Community Learning.

Jones presented on a panel titled: Teaching Critical Thinking Across the Discipline.