Scholarship & Awards Ceremony Recognizes Top Communication Studies Students

The Department of Communication Studies held its annual Scholarship and Awards Ceremony to recognize outstanding students in the areas of scholarship, research, and achievement on April 19.

Recognized students received scholarship money from the communication studies department as well as a permanent space on the plaques located in Coleman Hall. The popular event was attended by students, faculty, and family members of the award winners.

A complete list of all winners is located below. Students are welcome to apply for scholarships here for the 2015-2016 school year beginning during the spring 2016 semester.


  • Betty Lou Balasi Scholarship  –  Kelli Halfman
  • Dr. Kenneth E. Hadwiger Undergraduate Scholarship  –  Kayla Jacobs
  • Dr. Kenneth E. Hadwiger Graduate Scholarship  –  Anna Percival
  • Jon J. Hopkins Speech Education Scholarship  –  Wade Dundee
  • Carol A. Manhart Scholarship  –  Clinton Brown
  • Ralph Y. McGinnis Scholarship  –  Kaitlyn Corzine
  • Jack L. Payan Scholarship  –  Amy Gebka & Mark Devall
  • John E. & Mary J. Price Scholarship  –  Hannah Yarnell
  • Dr. J. Glenn Ross Scholarship  –  Jennifer Awah-Manga
  • Illinois Broadcasters Association Scholarship  –  Kelsey Zancha


  • Outstanding Lab Assistant  –  Bryson Batson
  • Inspired Achievement  –  Marissa Zak
  • Outstanding Junior  –  Lisa Rhodes
  • Outstanding Senior  –  Connor Wilcox
  • Outstanding Graduate Students  –  Audra Clodfelter & Ethan Kruger

Bock Undergraduate Research Contest:

  1. Kelli Halfman
  2. Lindsay Nichols
  3. Caitlyn Strader

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: