Archive for May, 2014

Kallie Middleton wins national radio broadcasting scholarship

May 29, 2014


Congratulations to E.I.U. Communication Studies major Kallie Middleton of Casey, who’s the winner of a national scholarship for students interested in radio broadcasting.  Kallie is the recipient of a $10,000 scholarship presented by the international music licensing company SESAC through the International Broadcasters IdeaBank, which is an organization of commercial radio broadcasting owners and managers. 

Kallie will graduate from Eastern in May 2015 with a Bachelor’s degree in Communication Studies.  She was nominated for the scholarship through her work at Cromwell Radio Group in Mattoon.  Kallie currently can be heard on the Night Party on 104.3 the Party and 101.3 WMCI.  Kallie is also a teacher’s aide in the Radio and TV Department at Lake Land College.  She gives her time to Special Olympics of Illinois, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital and Casey Westside Church of Christ.

Kallie is pictured above with Bayard “Bud” Walters, owner of the Cromwell Radio Group, and Dr. Blair Lord, Provost of Eastern Illinois University.



Communication Studies honors three retiring faculty members

May 13, 2014


Three faculty members in the E. I. U. Department of Communication are retiring at the end of the 2013-14 academic year:

  • Dr. Melanie Mills joined the Eastern faculty in 1985, teaching interpersonal and organizational communication classes as well as conducting research centered around occupational culture studies and work identities.  In 2013, she received the Distinguished Faculty Award from the E.I.U. Faculty Senate.  Dr. Mills intends to continue living in Charleston, where she is involved in a number of community service activities.
  • Dr. Shirley Bell came to Eastern in 1995 and has taught numerous courses in interpersonal communication and public speaking, while conducting research on conversational analysis.  She received awards for outstanding teaching on three occasions.  Dr. Bell plans to continue living in Mattoon.
  • Jim Coleman began teaching at Eastern in 2001 and joined the Department of Communication Studies in 2003.  He has taught courses in Applied Communication, Public Speaking, and led Study Abroad trips to Ireland.  He plans to continue living in Charleston and pursue his hobby of sailing.



WEIU News Watch wins another student Emmy award

May 13, 2014


WEIU-TV News Watch wrapped up the 2013-14 academic year by winning its 8th student Emmy award.  WEIU won the 2014 Mid-America Regional Emmy Award for Best College TV Newscast in Illinois, Missouri, and Arkansas.  The award will be presented on September 27th in Kansas City.


Winners named in Bock Research Contest

May 7, 2014

The winners have been announced in the 2014 Doug Bock Undergraduate Research Contest.  It’s a research paper writing competition held each spring for students who were enrolled in Communication Research (CMN 2020) during the past academic year. This year’s winners are:

  • 1st place: Michael Moy, “It Can Wait: Preventing Texting and Driving” (Dr. Rodney Marshall, instructor)
  • 2nd Place: Corrine Ryan, “Re-acclimation After Study Abroad”  (Dr. Angela Jacobs, instructor)
  • 3rd Place: Rosa Delaney, “Media Ecology and the Influence of New and Traditional Media” (Dr. Angela Jacobs, instructor)

The contest is named in honor of Dr. Doug Bock, who was chairman of the department from 1983 to 2001.  There are monetary awards to the top three finishers.

2013-14 Multimedia Contest Results Announced

May 5, 2014


Eastern’s Communication Studies Department held its 2013-14 Multimedia Contest Screening Monday evening (May 5th).  This year’s contest featured over 80 entries in six categories.  Seniors Kyle Fisher and Keith Sutterfield each claimed first place in two categories.  Here are the place winners in each category, along with links to their entries:

Video – PSA / Commercial:

  1. Kyle Fisher, Senior from Clifton (Central HS), Lumbering Behemoth Construction & Design
  2. Keith Sutterfield, Senior from Effingham, Bike & Hike 30 Second TV Spot
  3. Tyler Yocum, Senior from Effingham, Sunny Delight Commercial


  1. Keith Sutterfield, Senior from Effingham, Portfolio Site
  2. Tyler Yocum, Senior from Effingham, Scarlet Creative Website
  3. Kallie Middleton, Junior from Casey (Casey-Westfield HS), Back on the Rack

TV News:

  1. Jesse Guinn, Junior from New Castle, IN (Chrysler HS), Sgt. Timothy Owens Vigil
  2. Margaret Langevin, Senior from Chicago (Marist HS), Heroin Problem in East Central Illinois
  3. Dion McNeal, Junior from Park Forest (Naperville North HS), CHS Football Home Opener

Video – Documentary:

  1. Kyle Fisher, Senior from Clifton (Central HS), A Unique Path to EIU
  2. Chris Boswell, Senior from Naperville (North HS), Soccer Life: The Story Behind The Journey
  3. Keith Sutterfield, Senior from Effingham, EIU360: Brush With Greatness
  4. Breeahnah Babers, Senior from Castaic, CA, James Calderon
  5. Michael Moy, Junior from Northbrook (Glenbrook North), A Challenging Deploy

Video – Creative:

  1. Keith Sutterfield, Senior from Effingham, Sixty Thousand
  2. Breeahnah Babers, Senior from Castaic, CA, StuDying
  3. (Tie) Adam Austin, Junior from Champaign (Centennial HS), Picture Perfect, & Kyle Fisher, Senior from Clifton (Central HS), Taken

Radio – PSA / Commercial

  1. Jessi Meyer, Junior from Wood Dale (Fenton HS), Midas Auto Service Spot
  2. Anna Richardson, Junior from Bourbonnais (Bradley-Bourbonnais HS), Midas Auto Spot
  3. D’ara Townsend, Sophomore from St. Louis (Belleville East HS), Midas Commercial

Congratulations to 2014 Award Winners and Scholarship Recipients

May 5, 2014


The E.I.U. Department of Communication Studies honored its 2014 Scholarship and Award winners on Sunday (May 4th).  Award winners for 2014 are:

  • Outstanding Senior:  Anna Percival
  • Outstanding Junior:  Kelli Halfman
  • Inspired Achievement Award:  Malcolm Allen
  • Outstanding Graduate Students:  Amanda Feder and Emily Vajjala


Scholarship recipients are:

  • Ralph McGinnis Scholarship:  Mallory Winkeler
  • J. Glen Ross Scholarship:  Emma Bolinger
  • Carol Manhart Scholarship:  Kaitlin Corzine
  • Larry & Christine Helsel Scholarship:  Joryn-Alyssa Zeek-Lee
  • Betty Lou Balasi Scholarship:  Kelly Ann Hennessy
  • Raymond and Carolyn Miller-Fischer Scholarship:  Hannah Yarnell
  • Kenneth Hadwiger Undergraduate Scholarship:  Drew Borzi
  • Kenneth Hadwiger Graduate Scholarship:  Anna Percival
  • Jon J. Hopkins Scholarship:  Kelly Ann Hennessy
  • Jack L. Payan Scholarships:  Wade Dundee & Shelby Sandefer
  • Illinois Broadcasters Association Scholarship:  Margaret Langevin