EIU student to compete at national speech tournament

April 15, 2014

NFA Header final.jpg.1353723977467



Good luck to Eastern Illinois University’s Austin Mejdrich, who will compete in the National Forensics Association National Tournament.  Competition begins Friday at Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti, Michigan.  Austin will compete in both Impromptu Speaking and After Dinner Speaking.  Eastern’s Bethany Oxford also qualified for the national tournament, but will not be making the trip to compete.

WEIU News Watch a winner in state contest

April 14, 2014






Congratulations to WEIU-TV News Watch staff members who took home three awards at last weekend’s Illinois News Broadcasters Association state convention.  News Watch tied for first place for Best College TV Newscast in the state of Illinois.  EIU student Braden Harp placed second for outstanding videography and Savanna Tomei placed third for outstanding T.V. reporting.   About 90 students from around the state entered the various categories for radio and TV news.

Graduate student wins top paper award at regional conference

April 8, 2014


Amanda Feder, a second-year graduate student in Communication Studies from Arlington Heights (Buffalo Grove HS), won the top student paper award in the Ethics/Sex/Health Communication Caucus at last week’s Central States Communication Association convention in Minneapolis. Amanda’s paper was entitled “Fighting Business with Business: The Construction of the Vulnerable and Exploited Third World Woman by the Not-For-Sale Campaign.”  The Central States Communication Association includes colleges and universities from 13 midwestern states.

EIU Broadcast Industry Fair set for Wednesday, March 26

March 18, 2014


Eastern will host its annual Broadcast Industry Fair on Wednesday, March 26th from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. in the University Ballroom of the EIU Union.  Around a dozen radio and TV companies will have representatives on hand to talk with students about jobs and internships.  There’s no cost to attend.  For more information, visit the web site:


Funeral services Thursday for Dr. Floyd Merritt

March 17, 2014


Funeral services will be held Thursday in Tennessee for long-time E.I.U. Professor Dr. Floyd Merritt, who passed away on March 14.  Dr. Merritt was a professor in the Department of Speech Communication at Eastern from 1970 to 2000.  He also served as department chair and was also the coordinator of the graduate program for several years.  After retiring from Eastern, Dr. Merritt moved to Tennessee.  Davies-Culbertson Funeral Home in Tullahoma, Tennessee is in charge of funeral arrangements.

EIU Freshman places twice in Speech Tournament

February 17, 2014

The Eastern Illinois University Speech Team participated in the Litrenta Triangle Tournament at Harper College in Palatine last weekend.  Austin Mejdrich (Freshman from Charleston) was the tournament champion in Impromptu Speaking and placed third in Speech To Entertain.  Eastern will participate in the Bradley / Illinois State Swing Tournament this Friday and Saturday in Peoria and Normal.

Tylen Elliott wins 2013 Balasi Public Speaking Contest

December 3, 2013


Tylen Elliott, a Freshman Communication Studies major from Crete, Illinois (Crete-Monee HS), won the 2013 Balasi Public Speaking Contest tonight.  A panel of judges selected Tylen’s speech, entitled “Think Positively”, as the top speech delivered in the final round of the contest, sponsored by the Eastern Illinois University Department of Communication Studies.  Second place went to Darbey Jenkins, a Freshman Family & Consumer Science major from Greenfield, Illinois.  Third place was awarded to Mandi Mundhenk, a Sophomore Communication Studies major from Oblong, Illinois.  The other three students who competed in Tuesday’s finals and their speech topics were:

  • Heather Hunter (Sophomore Family & Consumer Science major from Monticello, Illinois) – Adopt Animals from Shelters
  • Amber Vanderwyst (Junior Psychology major from McHenry County, Illinois) – Go Dairy Free
  • Tiarra Webb (Sophomore Athletic Training major from Chicago (DuSable H.S.) – Get Tested for HIV/STD’s

The contest is named in memory of Betty Balasi, a long time staff member in the E.I.U. Department of Communication Studies.  Twenty-two students competed in the preliminary round of the competition Monday night.


EIU Speech Team featured in Peoria TV news story

November 15, 2013

Check out this TV news broadcast from WMBD-TV in Peoria, featuring the EIU Speech Team competing in a tournament at Bradley University.

Comm Studies students to present program on hate speech

November 15, 2013

Students from two Communication Studies classes are presenting a special program on hate speech.  Students enrolled in CMN 3903 (Communication, Gender and the Body) and CMN 3220 (Communication, Race and Ethnicity) are presenting an event entitled “Journey to Hate Free Communities: Moving Toward a Proactive World.”  It will be held Thursday evening, December 5 at 6:00 p.m. in the University Ballroom of the E.I.U. Union.  Students will screen the documentary Journey to a Hate Free Millennium that addresses the hate crimes committed against Mathew Sheppard, James Byrd Jr., and the Columbine shootings. The purpose of the event is to gather members of the EIU and Charleston communities for a proactive dialogue to address issues related to hate speech on the basis of race, gender, sexuality, and religion. Student-made videos relating personal narratives will also be featured.   Members of the campus community as well as the general public are invited.

Three faculty members win faculty achievement awards from Eastern

November 15, 2013

Three faculty members from the Department of Communication Studies are winners of Eastern Illinois University’s 2013 Achievement and Contribution awards for faculty.  Dr. Melanie Mills and Dr. Richard Jones are being honored for outstanding achievements in service, while Dr. Marita Gronnvoll is being honored in the balanced category, which takes into account her accomplishments in teaching, service, and research.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.